Building like what?

Breaking down what’s to come

Wow, I’m a liar. To say this year has FLOWN BY is an understatement. So obviously, I have not kept up with posting. So I’ll really try this time…? Yeah, I will. I promise! I’ll make some posts about our trips, what I packed, what we want to bring next time that we did not bring this time, etc. I figure since “third time’s the charm” in getting this thing started, I’ll use this as an introductory post into who we are, and what sort of things you can expect to see from this blog!

Barley: The Man, The Myth, The Legend

First thing’s first: Building Like Barley. Name of the blog, named after a dog. Aka Señor Barlos, Sir Barlington, BAR!, BarButt. To see so much personality in such a small package is truly incredible.

Barley is about 16lbs (he’s put on some winter weight) but thinks he’s closer to 150. Seriously. He has no fear; he’ll play with dogs 4 times his size and will have them on their backs in minutes. He climbs mountains, receiving accolades at the summit from owners of larger dogs that are shocked his little limbs took him 4,000+ feet up in the sky. And most notably, he has converted THREE staunch non “dog lovers” to utter the words, “I don’t usually like dogs, but if every dog was like Barley, I would love them.”

So yeah, he’s kind of a big deal.

To say that this boy made my life better is an understatement. I would say that he “saved” me, though that’s not necessarily the case. I adopted Barley from Last Hope K9 Rescue on February 8th, 2014. I decided that was his first birthday, since most of his paperwork alluded to the fact he’d be 1-year-old right around that time, and it’s easier to celebrate his adoptaversary and birthday together, so I don’t seem as crazy.

This is first photo I saw of Barley, taken while he was in a kill shelter in Arkansas, looking for a local foster to pull him from the shelter before his time ran out. CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?! You can see his tail wagging (even then), and honestly, it hasn’t stopped since.

IMG_1726

I saw this photo and applied immediately. I’m so, so, so, so lucky that I got him. It was meant to be. This dog is my soulmutt. He is full of life and fun and goofiness. He loves every person and dog he meets. He is curious about cats, ducks, horses, chickens, and geese, but still loves them. We foster dogs (which I’ll talk about in a future post) and he makes the process so easy. He shows new dogs that they are safe and welcome in our home.

But he has taught me that you should always be the authentic version of yourself, and someone will love you for all that you are. I like to think that if I hadn’t had Barley, I wouldn’t have been so open to loving Wes for all that he is, and for being completely myself from the start of our relationship. Wes and I met just under two months after I adopted Barley. He’d never had a dog before, but now he can’t imagine life without Barley. I can’t imagine life without either of them.

IMG_4137

Omg can you handle that cuteness?! I CAN’T HANDLE IT!

Getting to the point…

You need to understand Barley, who he is, and his importance in our lives before we move on. We believe in being yourself, living life to the fullest, and saying “YES!” 

  • Barley is small, and is happy with the simplest things. We want to build a tiny house, and simplify our lives. Our current one room apartment in Kittery, Maine is 460ish sq. ft, which is already compact. We’ve made significant strides in cutting our “stuff.” We’ll be detailing our process in all things tiny: decluttering, simplifying, And more logistical aspects such as saving money, making plans, determining where to live, and more.
  • Barley is full of life, and loves adventures. Nothing makes him happier than hearing the word “outside.” We love hiking, camping, backpacking, road trips, and National Parks. Wes is full of great tips and tricks, and I like to think I bring the sanity and practical aspects to our trips. I have lots to share!
  • Barley is Mr. Manager in the kitchen. We call him this because whenever I’m cooking, he’s always just a step away (literally), eager to help clean up any dropped scraps. I love to cook, and we try new things often! Get ready for food and kitchen ideas!
  • Oh boy, does Barley like beer. His name is Barley, after all, and he did just turn 3 (21 in dog years). We’ll be posting our trips to breweries, thoughts on beer, and things like that! Wes is hoping to get brewing again, so stay tuned!
  • This guy has been to Canada twice, not to mention 11 states! We love to travel. We’ll do some detailed itineraries of trips we’ve taken, but also how to plan, what to pack, and so on.
  • Barley goes with the flow. You’ve never seen a dog be so comfortable in every single situation, with every new person, in every new place. Like Barley, this blog with go with the flow… I’ll outline the highlights and main topics that you can expect to see, but there might be some sidetracked posts every once in a while. But that’s life, right?
So, plain and simply, here’s what you can look forward to:
  1. Listicles on tips/tricks/hacks for roadtripping, camping, hiking, visiting National Parks…
  2. Kitchen things- recipes, gadgets, meal planning, #crockpotlife, and more.
  3. Dogs! Tips on doing anything and everything with your dog, our favorites (places, toys, food, training tips), training ideas, why/how to foster, and anything else that comes to us!
  4. Travel, baby! Man, do we love to go places. Similar to #1, but we’ll probably highlight other places we’ve been, sort of like mini-travel guides to different places or just tips on packing, female solo travel, things like that.
  5. All things tiny- anything we do in our journey to simplify our life, with the lofty dream goal of building our own tiny house.

I so hope that you’ll stick around and see what we have to offer! Do you like the direction this blog is going, or do you think it’s too vague and all-encompassing? Anything in particular you’d like to see, or just along for the journey? We hope to hear from you soon!

And make sure to follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest @blikebarley!

Leave a Reply

